The will of Nathaniel Spurrett, citizen and haberdasher

London Bridge, St Mary Overy and part of Southwark, from a 1616 drawing by Wenceslaus Hollar

London Bridge, St Mary Overy and part of Southwark, from a 1616 drawing by Wenceslaus Hollar

In the previous post I wrote about Helen Langworth, the daughter of poet and clergyman Dr John Langworth, and her husband Nathaniel Spurrett, the son of another clergyman, Anthony Spurrett of Icomb in Gloucestershire. Helen and Nathaniel were married in 1611 and their only daughter Frances was born in 1613. However, a year later Nathaniel Spurrett died at the age of thirty-three. His last will and testament provides useful clues about Nathaniel’s possible links with recusant networks. In this post I’m reproducing my transcription of the will, and in the next post I’ll discuss what we can learn from it. In this transcription I’ve retained the original spellings and punctuation. A question mark in brackets (?) indicates my uncertainty about a particular word.

In the name of God Amen I Nathaniell Spurrett Cittizen and haberdasher of London beinge sicke in bodye but of good and pfect minde and memorye I humblye thanke god therefore doe make and declare this my present Testament and last will in forme following That is to saie first and principally I doe commend my soule into the protection of the holy Trinitye assuredly trustinge and beleivinge by and through the death passion and resurrection of the second pson in Trinitye namely Jesus Christe and by nowe other nor other meanes my synnes are and shall be freely pdoned and remitted my bodye to the earthe from whence it came to be decently buried at the discretion of my Executor heareunder named And after my bodye buried that all my debts by me truely and duely oweinge to any pson or psons at the tyme of my decease be first truly paid or order taken for payment thereof And after my debts paid or order taken for payment thereof and my funeral discharged I doe give and dispose all my worldly and temporall goods in forme following that is to saye Imprimis I doe give and bequeath unto my deare father Anthonie Spurrett in remembrance of my dutye and love one goulde ring of the value of fiftye shillings to be paid him ymediatly after my decease And allsoe I give unto my saide father one mourning Cloake and a mourning sute of Apparell of Flanders saye (?) And alsoe I doe give unto my mother in law Agnes Spurrett a mourneinge gowne of silke rashe (?) Item I doe give and bequeath unto my welbeloved brother George Spurrett in remembrance of my love one mourneinge Cloake and sute of Apparrell of Flanders sayd (?). And allsoe I give unto my sister his wife a mourneinge gowne of sike rashe (?) Item I give and bequeath unto my poore kinsman Robert Spurrett fortye shillings of lawfull englishe Item yfe after my debts payd or order taken for payment thereof my goods chattles and debts which shall then or at any tyme heareafter be had recovered and received into the handes and possession of my Executor heareunder named doe or shall amount unto the somme of a thowsand poundes of lawfull money of England Then I doe will and bequeath unto my deare and onely daughter Frauncis Spurrett the somme of twoe hundred poundes of lawfull money of England to be putt out as soone as conveniently may be to and for the best profit of my saide daughter And the saide somme of twoe hundred poundes together with the benefit which thereof shall arise I will shall be paid unto my saide daughter when shee shall have attained to her full age of eighteen yeares And yf my debts goods and Chattles which shall be remayneinge in the possession of my Executor heareunder named shall not amounte to the full somme of one thousand poundes That then my daughter shall share but the fifte parte of whatsoever shall come to the possession of my Executor heareunder named my debts which I doe owe and my other legacies being first discharged Provided all ways that yf my saide father Anthony Spurrett shall give and leave unto my saide daughter Francies the somme of twoe hundred poundes in goods and redie money and Chattells or otherwise That then I will that the legacies by me hearein before given unto my saide daughter shall be utterly payde and of noe effect, But yf my father shall not or doe not give and leave unto my saide daughter the somme of twoe hundred poundes That then I will that my Executor heareunder named shall make good and paye unto my daughter soe much money as shall make that now (?) two hundred poundes which shall be lefte and given unto her by my father And I doe make ordaine and appoint Mathewe Woodward of Mountague Close in Southwark in the Countie of Surrey gent my full and sole Executor of this my last will and Testament And soe I end my present Testament And doe heareby revoke disavill (?) and make voyde all other wills by me hearetofore at any tyme made And I doe publishe and declare this and none other to be and soe to stand for my last will and Testament yn witness whereof I have heareunto sett my hande and seale the sixteenth daye of January in the yeare of our Lord go according to the Computation of the Church of England one thousand sixe hundred and fowerteene in the xiith yeare of the raigne of our Soveraigne Lord King James of England Frannce and Ireland and the eighte and fortieth of Scotland. Nathaniel Spurret Sealed delivered published and declared by the saide Nathaniel Spurret the daye and yeare above written for his last will and Testament in the presence of th whose names are heareunder written, Frauncis Unwyn Walter Hill, And in the presence of me Edmund Jeffery Snr John Langworth, Marmaduke Parkinson.

This entry was posted in Langworth, Spurrett, Woodward. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

